Migrating from Yahoo Mail to Gmail – simple guide

Posted: July 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

Migrating from Yahoo Mail to Gmail – simple guide

Previously I’ve been working with Yahoo mail as my main mail application, but recently I decided to move all my mail activity to gmail, from few reasons –

Google services integrity – gmail is well integrated with google docs, and other tools I use frequently.

Yahoo account was giving me hard time when configuring it on the Samsung Android phone – I had to use the Yahoo mail application, and separately configure my company’s exchange account on the standard mail application on android – having two separate applications for mail is a pain… this specific problem can be solved using some work around, yet there are other reasons to continue with this migration (this issue does not exist on Iphones… they have one mail application that can present Yahoo and other mail accounts all in one app’)

Yahoo mail search is not working very well for me, frequently I cannot find the mail I’m looking for

Latest Yahoo mail application became extremely slow and heavy, this could be a long distance issue, as I’m not located in the US and probably Yahoo API’s having to do all the “round the globe” path, took their time

Another major issue I had with Yahoo account was lock-in. Yahoo charges 20$ a year for Pop enabled accounts, and despite the fact that it’s not much, it looks like an unnecessary cost for a service no better than other free mail services, and it might change as well. With no POP access, I am not able to retrieve all my mail history from this acoount.

As for the migration operation (yes, this is not a short easy process)…

Big question – how to do it right? After all, I’m still going to get mail on the Yahoo account from many sources where I registered to or have my Yahoo mail address, so the migration is not a singular point in time… it’s a continuous process. I want to be able to use my gmail account, and get all my Yahoo mail in that same gmail account.

The process is split into 2 steps:

  1. Configure Yahoo mail account to enable “POP3” (standard email protocol)
  2. Configure gmail account to “POP” Yahoo’s account and get all the email

Step 1 – enable POP for yahoo mail – Click in the little icon/image next to  the name at the top left of the scree, then choose Account

You’ll be asked to re-login, then the Account Info appears:

In the “Account Settings” section choose “Set language, site, and time zone”

In the new screen, select “Yahoo Asia” from the select box, as shown below, save and close.

Going back to the main Yahoo mail page choose “Options” ->” Mail Options”

Click on “POP and Forwarding” and select the “Allow your Yahoo! Mail to be POPed” option.

Step 2 – Gmail configuration

Now going to the gmail account, go to “Options” -> “Mail Settings”

Select the “Accounts and Import” tab, in the “Check mail using POP3:” section, click “Add POP3 email account” button.

Enter your full Yahoo mail address (inc’ @yahoo.com) and next button

Enter your username, password and leave the POP server details as is.

I chose to “Leave a copy of retrieved messages in the server, because I want it stay as a backup. I also checked the Labeling option.

Click “Add Account”.

Now, if all is correct, the migration process will begin, and messages from the Yahoo account start to appear in the Gmail inbox.

Depending on the number of emails and the inbox size on Yahoo, the whole email transfer process can take a very short time for small amount of data but could take days for larger Yahoos inboxes.

All Yahoo mail will show up in Gmail as unread mail, so I used this procedure to mark it as read:

http://www.woodwardweb.com/technology/marking_all_mai.html (Thanks Martin).

Once all the old email is retrieved, every new mail sent to the yahoo account will be transferred to the Gmail account as well.

Done!

Comments
  1. Utterly pent articles , appreciate it for selective information .

Leave a Reply

